< Back

Sunningdale Ladies' Golf Club

Sunningdale Ladies' Golf Club

Cross Road
Sunningdale
Surrey
England
SL5 9RX
Tel: +44 (0)1344 620507

Visit our website to book direct Email us

Accommodation near Sunningdale Ladies' Golf Club
Restaurants near Sunningdale Ladies' Golf Club

Sunningdale Ladies' is unique - it is steeped in history, the list of Past Captains resembles a page from "Who's Who" with eminent names, wives of Lords and the Duchess of York, later The Queen Mother who was captain of the club in 1932 and the Patron for many years.

Her 100 birthday celebration was celebrated in grand style by past captains and committee members dressing in 1900's costume and parading in Horse Guards to delight of onlookers.

It's uniqueness is that the Captain and Committee are responsible totally for the running of the club, from the catering to course management and the control of the finances. The members help with the bar on Open Days and Competition Days and serve the meals to competitors and guests.

Sunningdale was developed on land originally forming part of Windsor Forest. It was bought in 1524 by St John's College Cambridge who still own it today. In those days Sunningdale had few houses, the area being mostly common land covered with gorse, heather and a few trees. The construction of the Woking to Staines Railway divided the land and thereafter parts were sold off for development.

In 1898 T A Roberts assisted by his brother constructed a house for himself called Ridgemount. Ridgemount was subsequently enlarged and was known as The Dormy House providing accommodation for members. (This was the origin of the term "Dormy House to be found in close proximity to other golf clubs). The founder of the Ladies Club was probably approached by Mr Edward Villiers, a member of Sunningdale Golf Club, to form the Club.

Titleist